Trying to Get into Sax Shape

I have had my new Tenor Sax for about a month now. I have been practicing about every other day or so. I have been working on scales, some long tones, and doing a little bit of jazz improvisation. It is happening slowly but the muscles of my embouchure are strengthening. I am no longer losing air so quickly from corners of my mouth. Something that used to only happen after I had been playing for hours.

There are lots of little things to learn to do again. As soon as my embouchure is stronger I will begin working out of some of my old books, that is if I can find them. I may have to re-purchase them.

Maybe in the near future, I won’t be too embarrassed to post a recording of my progress. Right now there is too much “suck” happening.

Leave a Reply

